Pete’s world!

Posted: March 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

So what is there about me that’s exciting?  Not much.  Do I play competitively in the local rooms?  No.  Is there anything that gives me the right or ability to write a blog about Behind The Rock Tour?  Nothing, except that I believe this tour will make me (and you) a better pool player.

Why do I believe that?  Because it removes defense from the pool game and allows a score to be assigned to your match.  Your score is an indication of your progress.  When I first started playing “220” (10-Ball against the “Ghost”) my match average was in the 20’s.  A couple years later, I reside firmly in the 40’s.  My goal is to reach the Advanced Division where a minimum average of 70 is required.  Your offensive skills, putting balls in pockets, is clearly shown by your average.  There is no other purer way to show how good you are at aiming, stroking, and controlling the cue ball.

Then, if that were not enough, you compete with others in rooms across the nation using a handicapped system.  A handicap levels the playing field and adjusts your purely offense-based score so that you can actually win money on those days you play higher than your handicap.

Some will argue that defense is an important part of every pool game and that “220” doesn’t offer that component.  I won’t argue with that notion because I believe it’s true.  But if you can’t put balls in holes when you need to and control the cue ball, all the defense in the world isn’t going to save you.  In every game there comes a time when you need to get out.  Having the pure skills for pocketing consecutive balls will win the games your defense put you in a position to win.  It is a pretty rare game that defense ended up winning a game for somebody.  Putting the balls down will every time.

This blog will hopefully capture my journey on the Behind The Rock Tour and my growth as a pool player in an entertaining way.  I encourage your constructive comments if you find you have some.

Comments
  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

